OB Gyne


OB Gynecology

ObGyne During Dr. Primo V. Brillantes, Jr.'s term as Medical Director from 1988 to 1996, Jose R. Reyes Memorial Medical Center became the flagship hospital of the Department of Health (Philippines). Center of Wellness Hospital Programs was introduced and the hospital was accredited as "Mother-Baby Friendly Hospital." Moreover, the hospital had undergone expansion and renovation of its facilities.

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology first Chairman was Dr. Victorino de Guzman, from 1985 to 1993. Past department chairmen were Maria Fe M. Perez, MD (1993 to 1995), Marina Alcalde, MD (1998 to 2001), Rey H. Delos Reyes, MD (2002 to 2008), Maria Carmen H. Quevedo, MD (2009 to 2014).

In 1990, JRRMMC symposium was conceptualized by Dr. Rey H. delos Reyes and Dr. Mario A. Bernardino. The symposium is a department activity alternately held with the postgraduate course. The first President of the OB-GYN Alumni Association was Dr. Marina M. Alcalde.

            In 2005, the JRRMMC OB-GYN alumni were tasked to handle the Symposium/ Fellowship Night. It was also during this year that the symposium was first organized by the alumni officers and members under the leadership of Dr. Alberto Mercado who was then the 2nd President of the alumni association. The association conceived and spearheaded “The Mamerta Andaya Award” which is given to deserving alumnus or alumna chosen by the members themselves during the symposium. The first Mamerta Andaya awardee was Dr. Ricardo Gonzales in 1998 during the 5th Symposium. Other awardees were Dr. Elenita Binay (2001); Dr. Gloria Habalo (2003); Dr. Victorino De Guzman (2005), Dr. Maria Fe M. Perez (2007), Dr. Marina Alcalde (2009) Dr. Divina Pichay – Rojas (2011), Mabel Asunio (2013), and Teresita M. Flavier.

            To date, the department was headed by Dr. Leilani Coloma (2015-present) and has already conducted twelve (13) symposia and twelve (13) postgraduate courses. The department has succeeded in its vision to be recognized as the leading POGS accredited government hospital. Ob-Gyne Department