Banner AboutThe Department of Urology initially took its roots as a section of the Department of Surgery of the North General Hospital, the old name of the Dr. Jose R. Reyes Memorial Medical Center (JRRMMC). By an act of Congress, it achieved Department status in 1957 under the stewardship of Dr. Angel I. Reyes, its first Department Chairman.

 In 1969, the department produced its first graduate in residency, Dr. Virgilio Del Castillo, who later became its chairman.

In 1973, the department transferred to a separate eleven-bed ward. It was during this time that the department steadily became a byword in the management of genito-urinary disorders, most notably trauma cases.

In 1989, the training program was accredited by the Philippine Board of Urology. At this time, with Dr. Eduardo R. Gatchalian at the helm, the institution acquired various state-of-the art urological instruments which enabled its staff to perform innovative surgical techniques. As a result, the training program continued to produce competent urologists who played their expertise from as far north as Ilocos Norte to the southern tip that is General Santos City.

The demands of increased patient load prompted the construction of a separate urologic ward. In September 1996, the department moved to its new home which, at the present time, houses 22 beds.            

In 1999, Dr. Nelson A. Patron was appointed Chairman of the department and Dr. Gatchalian was subsequently named Training Officer. This period was marked by the addition of more equipment for endourology.

In 2001, Dr. Edgardo L. Reyes replaced Dr. Gatchalian as Training Officer.

In 2007, Dr. Juan Godofredo R. Bardelosa, III and in 2008, Dr Ernesto L. Gerial, Jr and Dr. Frederick P. Mendiola were added to the Consultant Staff of the department.

In 2010, Dr. Darwin L. Lim was added as consultant staff of the department. In 2011, the department continue to grow with the addition of Dr. Rufino T. Agudera and Dr. Enrique Ian S. Lorenzo as consultant staff.

In 2013, Dr. Ulyses Quanico, Dr. Aristotle Bernard M. Roque, Dr. Ceasar S.D. Ballesteros, and Dr. Jovino R. Chumacera were added in the roster of the consultant staff.

The department was revisited last April 16, 2012 by the Philippine Board of Urology and was awarded four (4) years of Full Accreditation (2013-2016).

At present, the department’s roster is composed of fourteen (14) consultant staff, six (6) of them are visiting consultants and one (1) honorary consultant; ten (10) regular resident staff, 1 from DOH pool, Dr. Edgardo L. Reyes as chairman of the department.

Jose R. Reyes Memorial Medical Center meanwhile, continues to be a prime DOH hospital serving as a catch-basin for patients in the Metro Manila area and is accredited by the Philippine Health Insurance Corporation (PHIC). UrologyDept